Alliance Activities : Councils : Transportation Council

Transportation Council

The Secure Technology Alliance Transportation Council is focused on promoting the adoption of interoperable payment systems for transit, tolling, parking and evolving mobility services and technologies. The overall goal of the Transportation Council is to help accelerate the deployment of standards-based secure payment programs within the transportation industry by engaging in projects that support transportation organization implementation goals for integrated payment systems and mobility as a service.

Transportation Council projects support the advancement of transit fare collection systems and explore linkages between and integration among transit payment systems and programs in the tolling, mobility services and financial industries.

Council Resources


Other Resources

Council Management

Transportation Council officers are:

  • Chair: Jerry Kane, Southeastern Pennsylvania Transportation Authority (SEPTA)
  • Vice Chair – Transit: Tina Morch-Pierre, Dallas Area Rapid Transit (DART)
  • Vice Chair – Tolling: Carol Kuester, Metropolitan Transportation Commission (MTC) and Bay Area Toll Authority (BATA)
  • Vice Chair – Parking: Michael Hughes, Worldpay

The Council is managed by a steering committee that includes a broad spectrum of leaders from the transportation, financial services and smart card industries. Current steering committee members include:

  • Francois Baylot, Thales
  • Jeff Beach, Visa
  • Patrick Comiskey, NXP Semiconductors
  • Jamie Geleynse, G+D Mobile Security
  • Michael Hughes, Worldpay
  • Kathy Imperatore, PATCO
  • Jerry Kane, SEPTA
  • Arash Kahvazadeh, Mastercard
  • Carol Kuester, MTC and BATA
  • Rhonda Marx, American Express
  • Tina Morch-Pierre, DART
  • Burt Wilhelm, Discover Financial Services

Council Membership

The Transportation Council is open to participation from vendors and transit organizations that join the Alliance and the Council.

The Secure Technology Alliance recognizes the top three individual contributors in each of the industry councils and the council “honor roll” – the individuals who were leading contributors and participants in the council projects and activities.

Secure Technology Alliance members who are participating in the Transportation Council include:

  • ABCorp
  • ACI Worldwide
  • American Express
  • Benefit Resource, Inc.
  • Clear2Pay
  • CPI Card Group
  • Cubic Transportation Systems
  • Dallas Area Rapid Transit (DART)
  • Discover Financial Services
  • FIME
  • First Data Corporation
  • G+D Mobile Security
  • Gemalto
  • Infineon Technologies
  • Interac Association/Acxsys Corporation
  • Invoke Technologies
  • Jacobs
  • KONA I Co., Ltd.
  • Mastercard
  • Metropolitan Transportation Authority
  • Metropolitan Transportation Commission
  • NXP Semiconductors
  • Port Authority of NY/NJ
  • Port Authority Transit Corporation (PATCO)
  • Rambus
  • Scheidt & Bachmann USA
  • Secure Element Solutions LLC
  • Southeastern Pennsylvania Transportation Authority (SEPTA)STMicroelectronics
  • STMicroelectronics
  • Thales
  • Tri County Metropolitan Transportation District of Oregon
  • Underwriters Laboratories (UL)
  • U.S. Department of Homeland Security
  • U.S. Department of Transportation/Volpe Center
  • Utah Transit Authority
  • Verifone
  • Visa Inc.
  • Vix Technology
  • Wells Fargo
  • XTec, Incorporated

Transportation Council participation is open to any Secure Technology Alliance member who wishes to contribute to the Council projects.

For more information about the Transportation Council or for more information on becoming a member of the Alliance, please contact the Alliance office via email at [email protected] or via telephone at (800) 556-6828.