Smart Card Alliance Announces 2003 Executive Committee Members

Smart Card Alliance Announces 2003 Executive Committee Members

Smart Card Alliance Annual Conference, Scottsdale, AZ, October 10, 2002–The Smart Card Alliance today announced its 2003 board of directors and executive committee. The Alliance also announced the appointment of Randy Vanderhoof as the new executive director; Vanderhoof has been acting in that capacity for nine months.

The eight members of the executive committee are:

  • Chairman Paul Beverly, vice president smart cards and e-transactions, SchlumbergerSema
  • Vice Chairman Kevin Gillick, head of corporate marketing, DataCard Group and newly elected board member
  • Treasurer Bob Wilberger, director of smart card initiatives, Northrop Grumman
  • Assistant Treasurer Gilles Lisimaque, senior vice president, Gemplus
  • Secretary Mike Madden, vice president business development, global e-business, MasterCard International
  • Assistant Secretary Linda Brown, business development, Infineon Technologies and newly elected board member
  • Technology Vice Chair Alex Giakoumis, director of corporate business development, smart card and secure microcontroller ICs, Atmel Corporation and newly elected board member
  • Executive Director of the Alliance Randy Vanderhoof

“Smart cards are taking off in the U.S. to the credit of the Alliance membership who helped to make things happen. I look forward eagerly to what promises to be a very exciting year ahead and to working with the new executive committee,” said Alliance Chairman Paul Beverly.

Other members newly elected to the 15-member board include:

  • Robert Merkert Sr., director strategic accounts, PC Security Division, SCM Microsystems, Inc.
  • Robert Helena, vice president smart solutions group, Hitachi America Ltd.
  • Diana Knox, senior vice president of emerging channels, Visa USA who was re-elected to a second three-year term
  • Kirk Brafford of ActivCard, elected as the observing director representing the interests of auditing members on the Board

Other returning board members are:

  • David Bonalle, vice president and general manager of advanced payments programs, American Express
  • Thierry Burgess, executive vice president of sales and marketing, Oberthur Card Systems
  • Alison Colquhoun, vice president of smart card business development, First Data Resources
  • Jennifer Spade, chief business development officer, CrossCom National Inc.
  • Michael Weekes, principal for business development, IBM’s Global Smart Card Center of Competency
  • Greg Garback, executive officer, department of finance and program development, Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority (WMATA)
  • Bill Holcombe, director, e-business technologies, General Services Administration (GSA)

The executive committee election was held during the Alliance’s 10th Annual Conference, where smart card industry leaders gathered to discuss the ‘Catalysts for Convergence,’ such as policy decisions, standards and new infrastructure implementations that are changing how corporations and government agencies do business using smart card technology.

Smart card-based systems verify, authenticate, and protect a cardholder’s identity and personal information and are used worldwide for secure identification, payment, transit and mobile telecommunications applications by major financial institutions, retailers, government and healthcare organizations and enterprises. More information is available at

About the Smart Card Alliance

The Smart Card Alliance is a not-for-profit, multi-industry association working to accelerate the acceptance of smart card technology.

Through specific projects such as education programs, market research, advocacy, industry relations and open forums, the Alliance keeps its members connected to industry leaders and innovative thought. The Alliance is the single industry voice for smart cards, leading industry discussion on the impact and value of smart cards in the U.S. For more information please visit

Verified by MonsterInsights