Smart Card Alliance Announces New Board Leadership for 2007

Smart Card Alliance Announces New Board Leadership for 2007

New executive committee and board reflect organization’s diversity

PRINCETON JUNCTION, NJ, October 13, 2006–The Smart Card Alliance today announced its seven-member 2006-2007 executive committee. The new Alliance board of directors held elections for the executive committee at the organization’s annual conference last week in San Diego. The executive committee will serve in a leadership role for the board and direct the activities of the executive director and the Alliance staff for the year ahead.

“As the markets for smart card technology continues to strengthen, with adoption increasing everywhere from government and enterprise to transit and banking, our organization is challenged to keep ahead of the needs of the industry and service an increasingly diverse market,” said returning board of directors chair Greg Garback, executive officer of finance and program development for the Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority (WMATA). “The executive committee and board are eager to continue to work with Randy Vanderhoof, our executive director, on programs that will help to facilitate and support the adoption of smart card technology in all markets.”

The executive committee includes the following board members:

  • Chair, Greg Garback, executive officer of finance and program development for the Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority (WMATA)
  • Vice chair, Wendy Humphrey, vice president transaction devices, First Data Corporation
  • Treasurer, Francine Dubois, director of marketing, financial products & services, Oberthur Card Systems
  • Secretary, Carey Miller, senior manager, BearingPoint’s Security and Identity Management Practice
  • Technology vice chair, Bryan Ichikawa, identification solutions architect, Unisys
  • Assistant treasurer, Robert Wilberger, senior manager, PriceWaterhouseCoopers
  • Assistant secretary, Gerald Hubbard, government business development manager, Datacard Group

The five other members newly elected or re-elected to the Alliance board are:

  • Iana Bohmer, director, identity management solutions, Northrop Grumman
  • Christian Juettner, group vice president, Giesecke & Devrient
  • John McKeon, secure identity solutions executive, IBM
  • Neville Pattinson, director of technology and government affairs, Gemalto
  • Brian Triplett, senior vice president of emerging product development, Visa USA

Newly elected observing members on the board are:

  • Government membership, Deb Gallagher, chief of the technology and technical interfaces division, Department of Defense Access Card Office/Defense Manpower Data Center

Other returning board members are:

  • Linda Brown, manager, business development, Infineon Technologies
  • Alex Giakoumis, director of corporate business development, smart card and secure microcontroller ICs, Atmel
  • Mark McGovern, chief technologist, Lockheed Martin
  • Bob Merkert, strategic business development, SCM Microsystems
  • Ken Moy, vice president, innovation and planning, MasterCard Worldwide

About the Smart Card Alliance

The Smart Card Alliance is a not-for-profit, multi-industry association working to stimulate the understanding, adoption, use and widespread application of smart card technology.

Through specific projects such as education programs, market research, advocacy, industry relations and open forums, the Alliance keeps its members connected to industry leaders and innovative thought. The Alliance is the single industry voice for smart cards, leading industry discussion on the impact and value of smart cards in the U.S. and Latin America. For more information please visit