About the Alliance : Management

Co-Chairs, Secure Technology Alliance Board of Directors

Jack Jania, Co-Chair

Jack Jania is Vice President of Product Management and Innovation at CPI Group. He consults with the financial industry on best business strategies to employ mobile payment, smart card payment and data security solutions. In addition to supporting CPI’s innovation and security objectives, Jack is committed to consumer education and digital security advocacy. In addition to his position as co-chair of the Alliance, Jack has chaired the Payments Council for several years.

Oliver Manahan

Oliver Manahan is Director of Business Development for Infineon Technologies. Prior to his current role, Oliver was Vice President of Emerging Payments with MasterCard, where he spent 10 years managing MasterCard’s EMV chip, contactless and transit programs for North America. Oliver started his career in the Information Technology field, working with companies such as Mercedes-Benz and Pepsi. Oliver has long been involved with the Secure Technology Alliance and its predecessor, Smart Card Alliance, serving the board in numerous roles. He has also chaired various councils and working committees for both the Alliance and the U.S. Payments Forum.

Executive Director

Randy Vanderhoof

191 Clarksville Road

Princeton Junction, NJ 08550

Email: [email protected]

Randy Vanderhoof is the Executive Director of the Secure Technology Alliance.  The Secure Technology Alliance is a not-for-profit, multi-industry association of over 200 member firms working to stimulate the understanding, adoption, and widespread application of smart card technology in North America and Latin America.  The Alliance organization provides a forum for industry stakeholders to collaborate and educate others on the appropriate uses of technology for identification, payment and other applications and strongly advocates the use of smart card technology in a way that protects privacy and enhances data security and integrity.

In addition to his leadership role with the Secure Technology Alliance, in August 2012 he became the Director of the EMV Migration Forum (since renamed the U.S. Payments Forum), an independent, cross-industry organization established to support the alignment of global payment networks, regional payment networks, issuers, processors, merchants, and industry suppliers to promote the efficient, timely, and effective introduction of EMV chip technology and other new and emerging payments technologies in the United States that protect the security of, and enhance opportunities for payment transactions within the United States.

Prior to joining the Secure Technology Alliance, he spent a majority of his professional career in management positions with a number of global organizations involving smart card identity and payments technology including IBM Global Smart Card Solutions, First Access, Inc., and Schlumberger (now Gemalto).

Randy is a graduate of Saint Joseph’s University in Philadelphia, PA with a BS in Management Marketing.  He received his MBA from Rider University in Lawrenceville, NJ.

Board of Directors

2020-2021 Executive Committee

  • Co-Chair: Jack Jania, CPI Card Group
  • Co-Chair: Oliver Manahan, Infineon Technologies
  • Treasurer: Brent Bowen, G&D Mobile Security
  • Assistant Treasurer: David Dekozan, Cubic Transportation Systems
  • Secretary: Megan Heinze, IDEMIA
  • Assistant Secretary: Elinor Smith, Discover Financial Services
  • Technology Vice Chair: Thomas Lockwood, NextgenID

2020-2021 Directors

  • Reena Abraham, Gemalto
  • Ryan Ahern, Ingenico
  • Tim Baldridge, U.S. Department of Defense/Defense Manpower Data Center
  • Brent Bowen, G+D Mobile Security
  • Carey Ferro, American Express
  • David Dekozan, Cubic Transportation Systems
  • Megan Heinze, IDEMIA
  • Linda Horwath, JCB International
  • Simon Hurry, Visa Inc.
  • Jack Jania, CPI Card Group
  • Thomas Lockwood, NextgenID, Inc.
  • Oliver Manahan, Infineon Technologies
  • Kunal Munjal, Mastercard
  • Brin Owen, Jacobs CH2M
  • Elinor Smith, Discover Financial Services
  • Kelly Urban, Fiserv

Alliance Staff

Nicole Lauzon


[email protected]

Nicole Lauzon is responsible for membership management and database support for both the Secure Technology Alliance and U.S. Payments Forum. A 2005 graduate of Douglass College at Rutgers University, she joined the Alliance in 2009.

Debra Marshall

Director, Communications

[email protected]

Debbie’s responsibilities include effectively identifying goals to align positioning and messaging into seamless communications for the association and its member companies. Debbie develops, edits and maintains all Alliance printed materials, including monthly and quarterly newsletters, the Annual Review, website content, membership kits and other written communications and programs. She also is responsible for communications for the U.S. Payments Forum, writing announcements and updates on the Forum, coordinating content on the EMV Connection website, and managing the communications for meetings.

Debbie spent the bulk of her career at Comcast, where she served as the Regional Director of Communications. She began her career working for a newspaper and has worked for Fortune 50 companies, advertising agencies and non-profit organizations. Prior to joining the Secure Technology Alliance, she served as consultant for Pershing/Bank of New York Mellon, Siemen’s, and the Public Relations Society (PRSA) of America.  Debbie graduated cum laude with a B.A. in Communications from Seton Hall University.

Cathy Medich

Cathy Medich

Director, Strategic Programs

[email protected]

Cathy Medich is Director of Strategic Programs for the U.S. Payments Forum and the Secure Technology Alliance. In this role, she manages strategic marketing and industry initiatives and directs industry council and working committee activities.  Cathy has over 20 years of experience in marketing and strategic planning for technology businesses, including consulting engagements or positions with Hewlett-Packard, VeriSign, VeriFone and CommerceNet. Cathy has B.S. and M.S. degrees in Electrical Engineering and Computer Science from M.I.T. and an M.B.A. from the Wharton Graduate School.

Jaclyn Sauvé

Director, Conference Services

[email protected]

Jaclyn Sauvé is currently the Director of Conference Services for the Secure Technology Alliance and U.S. Payments Forum, leading the logistic support team responsible for all conference operations. In addition, Jaci supports each conference program committee as a speaker liaison and the Sales and Marketing staff by managing all Exhibitor and Sponsor communications.

Before joining the Secure Technology Alliance in 2011, Jaci worked for 14 years in a diverse range of positions, including Director of Field Sales Administration & Division Event Planner at Scholastic Inc., Database Administrator / Event Coordinator / Marketing Assistant at Eschenbach Optik and Multimedia Coordinator at Danbury Hospital.

Jaci holds a degree in Communications / Media with a concentration in video production from Western Connecticut State University.

Shelbey Votapek

Communications and Marketing Events Manager

[email protected]

Shelbey joined the Secure Technology Alliance in 2013, where she manages member communications and assists on various projects for both the Secure Technology Alliance and the U.S. Payments Forum.  Prior to becoming a consultant with the Alliance, Shelbey was a Product Development manager for Verizon Wireless, responsible for an annual revenue of over $500 million.  She has also spent time as an Interactive Marketing manager for Realogy Corporation and worked for Comcast and Comcast Spotlight.

Shelbey has a Master’s of Business Administration from Centenary College and a bachelor’s degree in International Business and Marketing from Fairfield University.